3rd Annual Zuckerman US-Israel Symposium: PROGRAM

3RD Zuckerman Symposium2019 Program

Sunday, November 3, 2019
10:00am – 2:00pm

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
Benoziyo Auditorium, Nella and Leon Benoziyo Building for Biological Science



Master of Ceremonies
Kelly Avidan, Director
Department of Resource Development,
Weizmann Institute of Science

Opening Remarks

Alon Chen, President-Elect, Weizmann Institute of Science
Gili Bisker, Zuckerman Faculty Scholar, Tel Aviv University
Eric Gertler, Trustee, Zuckerman Institute

Advancing STEM Now: Why? Who? How?

Marissa Gross Yarm, Head of International Affairs, Strategy and International Affairs Division, Israeli Council for Higher Education

Rahav Shalom Revivo, Manager, Fintech and Cyber Innovations at the Israel Ministry of Finance

Irit Idan, Executive Vice President of Research Development, RAFAEL Advanced Defense Systems

Moderator: Lisa LewinVice President, BNY Mellon’s Pershing NY

Q and A

“I Did it My Way”
Successful women in STEM speak about making meaningful scientific and technological discoveries.

Dina Ben-Yehuda, Dean, Hadassah – Hebrew University School of Medicine
> Professor Ben-Yehuda will speak about her lifelong commitment to cancer patients.
Yael Yaniv, Associate Professor, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
> Associate Professor Yaniv will speak about her latest efforts to develop new drug treatments.

How can we Inspire Learners to Strive for Excellence, Enable Innovation, and Create Impact?

Thomas Zurbuchen, Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate, NASA

Coffee Break

Shifting the Gender Balance in STEM – Who’s the Boss?
Zuckerman Faculty Scholars present their original research and reflect on women’s roles in STEM.

Dr. Gili Bisker, Tel Aviv University. Principal Investigator, Bisker Lab for Novel Nanomaterials for Probing Living Systems at the Nano-Scale

Dr. Limor Freifeld, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology. Principal Investigator, Neuro-Engineering Laboratory

Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami, Weizmann Institute of Science. Principal Investigator, Shalev-Benami Lab for Visualization of Macromolecular Complexes

Dr. Hadas Soifer, Tel Aviv University. Principal Investigator, Hadas Soifer Lab

Moderator: Dr. Danny Ben-ZviZuckerman Faculty Scholar. Principal Investigator, Ben-Zvi Lab for Systems Physiology of Obesity and Diabetes

Novel Future Antibiotics

Ada Yonath, Director, Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure & Assembly at the Weizmann Institute of Science, and Winner of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2009

Closing Remarks

Yaffa Zilbershats, Chair, Planning and Budgeting Committee, Israeli Council for Higher Education



Main Symposium Page


General Information