Israeli Postdoctoral Scholars Guidelines for the 2020-2021 Academic Year

Duration and Funding
  • Zuckerman Israeli Postdoctoral Scholarships are for up to two years.
  • Zuckerman Israeli Postdoctoral Scholars receive a stipend of $20,000 US per academic year for up to two years, plus a $5,000 US travel allowance to return to Israel once per academic year during their postdoctoral appointment.
  • Candidates must hold a Ph.D. degree from one of the four participating universities (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Technion‑Israel Institute of Technology, Tel Aviv University, or the Weizmann Institute of Science) or, if still studying for a Ph.D., must submit their Ph.D. thesis before 1/10/2020.
  • Candidates who commenced their postdoctoral position before 10/2019 are not eligible to apply.
  • Candidates must be accepted to a postdoctoral program at an American university or research institute that includes a stipend for work and study. They must have obtained consent from a potential hosting supervisor at that university or research institute.
Annual Notification of Renewal
  • Zuckerman Israeli Postdoctoral Scholarships are for up to two years. By March 15 of the first year in the program, scholars must notify their hosting universities whether or not they are continuing in the program for a second year.
Zuckerman Scholars are required to participate in sponsored events and activities during the academic year. These events include but are not limited to:
  • Returning to the home campuses from which they earned their doctorates, and visiting other universities, where they will give talks and be interviewed by faculty and Ph.D. students. Scholars should share insights about their research and about the experience of collaborating with scientists in the United States.
  • Attending academic and social programs hosted by the Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program.
  • Joining a Zuckerman Institute scientific seminar with media coverage that will be open to the public, where selected postdoctoral scholars from all the participating universities in the Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program will present their research.
Publications and Recognition
  • Zuckerman Israeli Postdoctoral Scholars must identify themselves as scholars of the Zuckerman Israeli Postdoctoral Scholars Program in all academic and scientific papers, articles, publications, presentations (including web pages) of any material based on or advanced under the Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program, in the following terms: “This work was supported in part by the Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program.”
Supporting Documents
  • Curriculum vitae, including a paragraph on demonstrated leadership qualities.
  • List of at least three publications, noting the impact factor of the journals in which the papers were published.
  • Written confirmation that the candidate is entitled to a Ph.D. degree and the date it was awarded, or an administrative confirmation that the candidate’s doctoral thesis was sent to referees.
  • Research proposal (maximum 3 pages).
  • Letter of acceptance to a postdoctoral program at an American university that includes a stipend for work and study.
  • Letter of consent from a potential hosting supervisor from the American university.
  • Three letters of recommendation, including a letter from the candidate’s Ph.D. supervisor. If possible, one letter should be from a university other than the one where the candidate’s Ph.D. was granted.
  • Personal statement detailing the candidate’s future career plans.

10 Israeli postdoctoral scholarships will be awarded for the 2020-2021 academic year. Five out of the 10 scholarships will be reserved for women.

Applications for Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Tel Aviv University and Weizmann Institute of Science will be accepted through March 30, 2020.

Applications to the Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholarship Program should be sent via email in one pdf file to one or more of the following participating Israeli universities:

Tel Aviv University
Neta Kalimi Eilam
Academic Secretariat
Foundations and Scholarships Department

Weizmann Institute of Science
Devora Sofer
Coordinator for Academic Services,
Special Programs & CALLS
Feinberg Graduate School

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Limor Levy
International Office

Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Michal Meyer
Awards and Recognition Coordinator
Office for Academic Staff