Meet the New Cohort

Announcing the new Zuckerman 2020-2021 cohort.


The Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program is proud to welcome its fifth cohort of scholars for the 2020-2021 academic year. This impressive group, 27 leaders in their respective STEM fields from the US and Israel, will focus on research, make new discoveries and lead the way ­­— from genetics to quantum physics, deep learning to neuroscience.

We are proud of our continuing effort to advance the role of women in STEM: nearly 50% of the 2020-21 cohort are women. Since the start of the program in 2016, we have welcomed 151 Zuckerman scholars from the US, Israel and Canada. As the program grows, our scholars continue to lead and achieve, gaining new insights in research, making significant discoveries, publishing in high impact journals, receiving grants, awards and patents.The Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program would not be a success without the help of its partners: Israel’s Council for Higher Education, and many universities in the US and Israel. We are grateful to the Selection Committee, who guides the application process, encourages diversity and helps govern the selection of our scholars. Together, our partners and scholars are implementing Mort Zuckerman’s vision.

Introducing the 2020-2021 Zuckerman Scholars and their host institutions:

Zuckerman Faculty Scholars

  • Moran Dvela-Levitt to Bar Ilan University
  • Yossi Weizmann to Ben Gurion University of the Negev
  • Shani Stern to University of Haifa
  • Neta Shlezinger to The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Arielle Fischer to Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  • Alon Ron to Tel Aviv University
  • Yael Kiro to Weizmann Institute of Science

Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholars

  • Chenglin Fan to Bar-Ilan University
  • Ella Jewison to Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Andre Pellerin to Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Julie Shapiro to Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Silas Dean to University of Haifa
  • Ben Strauber to University of Haifa
  • Lam Pham to The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Adlai Katzenberg to Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  • David Weinreich to Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  • Tyler Kutz to Tel Aviv University
  • Michael Roysdon to Tel Aviv University
  • Michelle Talal to Tel Aviv University
  • Peter Crockford to Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Brian Ross to Weizmann Institute of Science

Zuckerman Israeli Postdoctoral Scholars

  • Aviad Levis to Caltech
  • Koral Goltseker to Columbia
  • Dana Rubi Levy to Harvard
  • Shdema Hayut to MIT
  • Zohar Arnon to NYU
  • Ayelet Uzan to Princeton
  • Evgeniy Boyko to Princeton and Purdue
  • Shiran Bar to Stanford
  • Michael Kalyuzhny to University of Michigan
  • Ido Sagi to Whitehead Institute

Zuckerman-CHE Israeli Women Postdoctoral Program 

  • Natalie Fardian-Melamed to Columbia University
  • Or Szekely to Duke University
  • Alexandra Shtein to Harvard
  • Anat Rotstein to Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Rachel Gur-Arie to Johns Hopkins University
  • Sonya Tiomkin to Lehigh University
  • Bracha Laufer-Goldshtein to MIT
  • Tamar Regev to MIT
  • Maayan Pour to NYU
  • Biana Bernshtein to Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard
  • Maya Yablonski to Stanford University
  • Yael Tsarfati to Stanford University and UC Berkeley
  • Avia Raviv Moshe to Stony Brook University
  • Danielle Gutman to The Wistar Institute
  • Lilach Gorodetski to UC San Diego
  • Rachel Blau to UC San Diego
  • Leehe Peled-Avron to UC San Francisco
  • Shira Landau to University of Toronto, Canada

Our Community Continues to Grow!
Our US-Israel STEM community has experienced incredible growth in the past five years.  From the tens of researchers who participated at the start of the program in 2016, the Zuckerman STEM program now includes hundreds of researchers in Israel, the US and Canada who are sustaining a productive cycle of academic exchange. As we move forward, the Zuckerman STEM community continues to expand in ways that will impact generations of scientists and strengthen the bonds between the two countries.

Font Resize