Postdoctoral Scholar Guidelines for the 2018–2019 Academic Year

Duration and Funding
  • Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholarships are for up to two years.
  • Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholars receive a scholarship of $50,000 per academic year for up to two years, with $36,000 each year for living expenses and $14,000 each year for research ($10,000) and travel ($4,000) expenses.
  • If circumstances allow, Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholarships may be renewed on a competitive basis for an additional one or two years.
  • Candidates may apply to more than one university.
  • Candidates must be citizens of the United States or Canada, or have a documented status that allows them to study and work in the US.
  • Candidates must hold a Ph.D. degree from a premier university, or if still studying for a Ph.D., must submit their Ph.D. thesis before October 1, 2018.
  • Candidates who began their postdoctoral training at the host institution after October 1, 2017, or who will arrive to begin their training no later than October 1, 2018, may still apply for the upcoming deadline.
  • Candidates must obtain consent from a potential hosting supervisor at the Israeli university/universities the candidate is applying to.
Zuckerman Scholars are required to participate in sponsored events and activities during the academic year. These events include but are not limited to:
  • A day-long academic event at each participating university campus.
  • Visits to various departments, research programs, and research facilities, including opportunities to meet students and faculty at other universities.
  • A Zuckerman Institute scientific seminar with media coverage that will be open to the public, where selected postdoctoral scholars from the participating universities in the Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program will present their research.
  • In addition, scholars will be invited to social activities and sightseeing trips. They will be exposed to Israeli culture, meet with various sectors and ethnic groups, and visit science parks and high-tech incubators in Israel.
  • Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholars must identify themselves as members of the Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholars Program in all academic and scientific papers, articles, publications, presentations, etc.
Supporting Documents
  • Curriculum vitae, including a paragraph on demonstrated leadership qualities.
  • List of at least three publications, noting the impact factor of the journals in which the papers were published.
  • Short letter of intent declaring the candidate’s plans to return to the United States or Canada and compete for a university position there.
  • Research proposal (maximum 3 pages).
  • Letter of consent from a potential hosting supervisor at the Israeli university/universities the candidate is applying to.
  • Three letters of recommendation, including a letter from the candidate’s Ph.D. supervisor. If possible, one letter should be from a university other than the one where the candidate’s Ph.D. was granted.
  • Personal statement detailing the candidate’s future career plans.

5 postdoctoral scholarships to each participating university will be awarded for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Applications for  Hebrew University, Tel Aviv University, Technion–Israel Institute of Technology and Weizmann Institute of Science are closed.

Applications for Bar-Ilan University, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, and the University of Haifa are extended. Please apply by June 1, 2018. 

Applications to the Zuckerman Postdoctoral Scholarship Program should be sent by the potential hosting supervisor(s) via email in one pdf file to one or more of the following participating Israeli universities:

Bar-Ilan University
Ms. Shani Mizrachi, Deputy
President Office Coordinator

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Ms. Limor Azoulay-Gowans
The Kreitman School of Advanced Graduate Studies

University of Haifa logo
University of Haifa
Ms. Sigalit Rajuan

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Limor Levy
International Office

Israel Institute of Technology
Ayellet Katalan
Visiting Scientists Coordinator, Office for Academic Staff

Tel Aviv University
Neta Kalimi Eilam
Foundations and Scholarships Department
Academic Secretariat

Weizman Institute of Science
Feinberg Graduate School