Israeli Council for Higher Education Partnership 2018-2021

Eric Gertler-Trustee, Zuckerman Institute; Professor Yaffa Zilbershats-Chairman, Council for Higher Education; James Gertler-Trustee, Zuckerman Institute; Professor Rivka Carmi-President, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev; Professor Arie Zaban-President, Bar-Ilan University; Professsor Daniel Zajfman-President, Weizmann Institute of Science; Professor Joseph Klafter-President, Tel Aviv University

Partnering for STEM Excellence


The State of Israel’s Council for Higher Education (CHE) determines policies for higher education. Its Planning and Budgeting Committee (PBC) has allocated matching funds to allow the Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program to expand from the original 4 universities (Hebrew University, Tel Aviv University, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, and Weizmann Institute of Science) to Bar-Ilan University, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, and the University of Haifa, bringing the program to a total of 7.

The CHE and the PBC work to develop research and instruction, promote quality and excellence, and make higher education accessible to the entire population. One of their goals is to increase the number of postdoctoral students pursuing research in Israel, with an emphasis on outstanding students from leading universities in the United States and Canada.

Thanks to this collaboration, 60 additional postdoctoral STEM scholars will conduct their research in Israeli institutions in the coming years.

Each postdoctoral researcher receives $100,000 US over two years.

The total budget of the program is $11 million US, shared equally between the Council
for Higher Education and the Zuckerman STEM Leadership Program.

The program will run initially for 4 years, from the 2018-2019 academic year through to

Study In Israel